About AMALIVRE

 

AMALIVRE is the fruit of the merger of Aux Amateurs de Livres International and the Librairie internationale Touzot.

Founded just before the Second World War, both bookshops started out specializing in selling rare and antiquarian books to libraries and private clients. Very soon after they began to turn to the sale of new French and francophone books to university libraries, research centers and museums throughout the world. These long-standing ties with university libraries, most notably in North America, have led Aux Amateurs de Livres and the Librairie Internationale Touzot to undertake ambitious investments to respond to the rapid evolution of libraries, especially in the exchange of data, MARC cataloging, the physical treatment of books, and all the other bibliographic services necessary to a successful acquisitions program.

The Librairie internationale Touzot and the Librairie Aux Amateurs de livres International joined forces in 2012. The merger of their databases and the creation of unified information system became effective July 1, 2014. At this point, we adopted the corporate and commercial name of AMALIVRE.

Situated in the heart of Paris, staffed by a team of nearly 35 multilingual, professional and motivated colleagues, and boasting contacts with more than 7,000 French and francophone publishers AMALIVRE supplies libraries worldwide with titles in all formats (books, DVDs, periodicals, e-books...) through a variety of acquisition models (firm orders, standing orders, approval plans, subscriptions).

AMALIVRE is is able to offer a range of services using the latest technology in the field: Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) for orders or invoices, cataloging records in the MARC21 format, digitized tables of contents and covers, shelf-ready books, and a website designed for convenience in selecting titles, ordering, viewing account information and keeping track of order status.

With a profound knowledge of French and francophone publishing at its disposal, AMALIVRE offers its services to booksellers worldwide that share the same passion for the diffusion of the French language and of francophone publications.

Qui sommes-nous ?

 

AMALIVRE est le fruit du rapprochement entre la Librairie Aux Amateurs de Livres International et la Librairie internationale Touzot.

Créées toutes les deux juste avant la seconde guerre mondiale, elles ont débuté leur activité par la vente de livres anciens et de beaux livres aux particuliers et aux institutions. Très vite, elles ont orienté leur offre vers la vente de livres courants, français et francophones, aux Bibliothèques universitaires, aux centres de recherche et aux musées dans le monde. Ces liens anciens avec les Bibliothèques universitaires, notamment nord-américaines, ont amené la Librairie Aux Amateurs de Livres International et la Librairie internationale Touzot à entreprendre des investissements ambitieux pour répondre aux besoins en évolution rapide des Bibliothèques, notamment en matière d'échange de données informatisées, de catalogage aux normes MARC, d'équipement du livre et de tous autres services bibliographiques.

La Librairie internationale Touzot et la Librairie Aux Amateurs de livres International se sont rapprochées en 2012. La fusion de leurs bases de données et la création d'un système d'information unifié sont effectives depuis le 1er juillet 2014. A cette occasion, elles ont pris la dénomination sociale et commerciale d'AMALIVRE.

Situé au cœur de Paris, fort d'une équipe de près de 35 collaborateurs multilingues, professionnels et motivés, de ses liens avec plus de 7000 éditeurs français et francophones, AMALIVRE fournit les Bibliothèques du monde entier en titres sur tous supports (livres, dvd, périodiques, e-books…) et selon tous modes d'acquisition (commandes fermes, commandes permanentes, envois d'office - "Approval plans", abonnements).

AMALIVRE propose en outre une gamme de services à la pointe des dernières évolutions technologiques : échanges de données informatisées (EDI) pour les commandes ou les factures, notices de catalogage au format MARC21, table des matières et couvertures numérisées, préparation physique des livres, site web dédié à la sélection des titres, aux acquisitions et au suivi du compte et des commandes.

Disposant d'une connaissance approfondie de l'édition française et francophone, AMALIVRE offre également ses services aux Libraires dans le monde qui partagent la même passion pour le rayonnement de la langue française et la diffusion de l'édition francophone.